The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog. Practice typing regularly to improve your speed and accuracy for government examinations. Focus on correct spelling and proper spacing between words.
AP Court Typist Test — Exam Overview
The AP District Court Typist / Copyist skill test is held by the High Court of Andhra Pradesh for the AP District Judiciary (Typist Notification 3/2025-RC and Copyist Notification 6/2025-RC, dated 6 May 2025). It is an English typing test on computer lasting 10 minutes, typed from a printed passage. The instructions say the Backspace key will not work, Ctrl and arrow keys are disabled, and you may type up to 450 words only.
The skill test carries 50 marks and the merit list is drawn on skill-test marks; the computer-based test of 80 questions is for shortlisting only. Minimum marks are 40% for OC/EWS, 35% for BC and 30% for SC/ST/PwBD. No WPM figure is published and the notices do not say how mistakes are counted, so this page sets no speed target. It locks Backspace off and uses a 10-minute timer with a 95% accuracy target.
How this exam differs
Backspace, Ctrl and arrow keys do not work in the AP High Court’s typing test, so this page locks Backspace off. You cannot go back to fix a word; accuracy has to come first time.
You may type up to 450 words only, in 10 minutes. The official notices publish no WPM figure, so this page sets no speed target and reports your speed and accuracy instead.
The skill test carries 50 marks and the merit list is drawn on skill-test marks; the 80-question CBT is for shortlisting only. Minimum marks are 40% OC/EWS, 35% BC and 30% SC/ST/PwBD.
Basic Details
| Detail | Value | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | 10 minutes | After a mock session and instructions |
| Backspace | Disabled | Ctrl and arrow keys also disabled |
| Word limit | Up to 450 words | Typed from a printed passage |
| Marks | 50 | Merit list on skill-test marks |
| Minimum marks | 40% / 35% / 30% | OC/EWS / BC / SC, ST, PwBD |
| Speed | No WPM published | Eligibility: English Typewriting Higher Grade |
Posts Covered on This Page
- Typist — Notification 3/2025-RC, AP District Judiciary
- Copyist — Notification 6/2025-RC, AP District Judiciary
Eligibility includes the AP Government Technical Examination in English Typewriting (Higher Grade). Check the notification for the exact eligibility for your post.
What the 2025 Notices State
| Item | Official rule | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | 10 minutes, English, on computer | Stated |
| Editing keys | Backspace will not work; Ctrl and arrow keys disabled | Stated |
| Word limit | Up to 450 words only | Stated |
| Marks | 50; minimum 40% / 35% / 30% by category | Stated |
| Speed and error rule | No WPM figure; error counting not stated | Not published |
The 2025-cycle test of 13 February 2026 was cancelled for technical issues and held again on 15 March 2026. No new notification had been issued on 9 October 2026.
Important qualifying notes
- Without Backspace, every wrong key stays in your answer, so accuracy matters more than speed
- You cannot type more than 450 words, so above 45 WPM you reach the cap before the 10 minutes end
- How mistakes are converted into marks is not published
Test Pattern — What the Instructions Say
Stated in the Typing Instructions
- 1Actual typing test: ten (10) minutes
- 2Backspace key will not work
- 3Ctrl and arrow keys are disabled
- 4You may type up to 450 words only
- 5A mock session and instructions come before the test
Not Published — Practise Safely
- iNo WPM figure: this page reports speed without a pass mark
- iError counting: not stated, so aim for clean words
- iNext notification: not announced on 9 October 2026
Practising Without Backspace
Slow down to stay clean
A wrong key cannot be removed. Find the steady pace at which you rarely mistype, then build from there.
Keep going after an error
You cannot fix a mistake, so do not pause on it. Move to the next word and keep your place.
Know the 450-word ceiling
450 words in 10 minutes is 45 WPM. Above that pace you reach the cap before time runs out, so spend effort on accuracy.
Exam-Day Rules, Accommodations & Common Mistakes
Check the official AP Court Typist Test notice
- iReporting time, identity documents, the keyboard and software provided, scribe or compensatory-time provisions, and how mistakes are counted are set by the recruiting body. The current notification and your admit card override any general advice.
- iGeneral questions: Backspace rules, keyboard layouts and Hindi fonts are answered in the typing exam FAQ.
- iRoutines and drills: scoring rules, accuracy drills and test-day routines are in our exam guides.
Before the Next Cycle
Practise from print
The real passage is printed on paper. Practise reading from a sheet beside the keyboard as well as from the screen.
Use the mock session
The instructions schedule a mock session before the test. Use it to settle on the keyboard.
Understanding Your TypingHub Practice Report
Characters and words
- iCharacter comparison: Ordinary incorrect, extra or missing characters carry full weight in the practice analysis. A single misspelled word can contain several character errors.
- iCase and punctuation: Case-only substitutions and punctuation substitutions receive half weight. Added or omitted characters are counted separately.
- iSkipped or extra words: The report identifies missing and extra words as well as character differences. Read the highlighted passage to understand each mismatch.
Using the result
- iTwo accuracy measures: Character accuracy and word accuracy measure different things. A word counts as correct only when it matches the reference word.
- iPractice targets: A practice pass or fail is based on this test’s configured targets. It is not a recruiting authority’s qualification decision.
- iOfficial evaluation: Check the notice and evaluation instructions for your exact recruitment year, post and category. Do not convert this report into official examination marks.
Understanding Your Typing Practice Report
The arithmetic behind Gross WPM, Net WPM and key depressions. Your notice decides which of these it uses.
Gross WPM
Gross WPM = (total keystrokes ÷ 5) ÷ minutes. Letters, spaces and punctuation all count, and five keystrokes make one standard word.
Net WPM
Net WPM subtracts a penalty for uncorrected errors from Gross WPM. Two candidates with the same raw speed can end up several WPM apart.
Key depressions (KDPH)
Some notices state speed as key depressions. 35 WPM equals 10,500 key depressions an hour (35 × 5 × 60), and 30 WPM equals 9,000.
Full and half mistakes
TypingHub groups errors to help you review an attempt. Full and half weights in this report are practice feedback; use your recruitment's evaluation instructions for official penalties.
4-Week Practice Plan for AP Court Typist Test
An adaptable practice routine, not a qualification guarantee. Repeat a stage until your accuracy is steady.
Week 1: Accuracy base
Touch-typing drills without looking at the keys. Hold 95% accuracy or better and ignore speed for now.
Week 2: Build speed
Two timed five-minute runs a day. Raise your pace by two or three WPM only once accuracy stays steady.
Week 3: Full-length mocks
One full AP Court Typist Test mock a day for the exam's full duration. Read the error report and retype the words you missed.
Week 4: Exam rehearsal
Practise at your exam's time of day, on a full-size keyboard, with your notice's backspace rule. Aim a few WPM above the target.
Practise AP Court Typist Test on TypingHub
Check the practice timer, language and input layout against your own recruitment instructions before starting.
Start the mock
Scroll up, click Start and type the passage shown. The clock runs for the full session, as it does in the exam hall.
Read your report
See Gross and Net WPM, accuracy and the full and half mistakes, word by word, as soon as the timer ends.
Repeat with a new passage
Retype your missed words, then try a fresh passage. For structured lessons and the available practice catalogue, see the AP Court Typist Test course.
Frequently Asked Questions (AP Court Typist Test)
BACKSPACECan I use Backspace in the AP court typing test?
No. The official typing instructions say the Backspace key will not work, and Ctrl and arrow keys are disabled too. This practice page locks Backspace off to match.
SPEEDWhat WPM do AP district courts require?
The 2025 notices do not publish a WPM figure. Eligibility is the AP Government Technical Examination in English Typewriting (Higher Grade), and the skill test is marked out of 50.
MARKSHow is the AP court typist test marked?
Out of 50 marks, with the merit list drawn on skill-test marks. Minimum marks are 40% (OC/EWS), 35% (BC) and 30% (SC/ST/PwBD). The notices do not explain how mistakes are converted into marks.
WORD LIMITWhy is there a 450-word limit?
The typing instructions permit up to 450 words only. The practice passages for this page stay within that limit.
CBTDoes the CBT count in the final merit?
No. The 80-question computer-based test is for shortlisting only. The merit list is drawn on skill-test marks.
VS TELANGANAIs the AP test the same as the Telangana court typist test?
No. Telangana publishes 45 WPM for 100 marks. AP publishes no WPM figure, disables Backspace, caps typing at 450 words and marks out of 50.
Exam guides for AP Court Typist Test
Read the scoring rules before the next attempt. These pages match this exam, not a generic typing blog.
Practice Other Popular Government Typing Tests
Enhance your typing speed across all major Central & State Level skill tests:
Official References & Recruitment Instructions
District Judiciary Typist and Copyist: 10-minute English test on computer, Backspace, Ctrl and arrow keys disabled, up to 450 words, 50 marks. No WPM figure is published.
- Typist Notification 3/2025-RC (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
6 May 2025: skill test of 50 marks with the merit list on skill-test marks; minimum 40% OC/EWS, 35% BC, 30% SC/ST/PwBD; the CBT is for shortlisting.
- Typing-test instructions (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
Actual typing test of 10 minutes; Backspace key will not work; Ctrl and arrow keys disabled; candidates may type up to 450 words only.
Independent preparation guidance based on AP High Court Notifications 3/2025-RC and 6/2025-RC (6 May 2025) and the High Court’s typing-test instructions, checked 9 October 2026. No WPM figure is published; confirm the rules in the notice for your cycle.
Last reviewed October 2026 · TypingHub, New Delhi